The Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy at the University of Toronto is committed to furthering principles of equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in all that we do. These principles include:

  • Creating, supporting and maintaining a learning and working environment that is free from discrimination, harassment, intimidation, bullying and disrespectful behaviour.
  • Striving to recruit and retain learners, staff and faculty that reflect the diversity of Canadian society.
  • Assuring that our programs and curricula prepare our graduates to meet the needs of the diverse communities they will serve in their careers in Canada and around the world.
  • Understanding that transparency drives accountability and committing to regular and inclusive sharing of knowledge and information about EDI initiatives.
  • Recognizing that advancing EDI is a shared responsibility and an ongoing process of growth at the individual, organizational and societal levels.

What we are doing

The Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy is taking action in several areas to foster more equity, diversity and inclusion pharmacy across our programs. Together we are working to expand and deepen our focus on equity, diversity and inclusion as guiding forces for the education we deliver and the research we lead. We are taking action in several areas to foster more equity, diversity and inclusion across our programs and organizational culture.

EDI Working Group and Strategic Plan 2021

In June 2021 we established an EDI Working Group to develop a strategy and draft terms of reference for a standing committee that will be integrated into our governing Faculty Council. The Working Group included members of our faculty, staff, students, and alumni who came together between July and November 2021 to create the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Strategic Plan.

Read the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Strategic Plan

In December 2021, The EDI Working Group delivered the EDI Strategic Plan to the Dean's Office with the recommendation that the strategies outlined be integrated into the Faculty's next five-year academic plan. In September 2022, Dean Dolovich officially accepted the recommendations from the EDI Working Group.

Read More

EDI Working Group Members

  • Jillian Kohler (co-chair)
  • Lachmi Singh (co-chair)
  • David Dubins
  • Reina Bendayan
  • Sara Guilcher
  • Ayub Hashi
  • Marvin James
  • Debora Kwan
  • Kathy Moscou
  • Kate Richards
  • Quinn Pauli
  • Kishan Rana
  • Tara Snyder
  • Cecelia Power
  • Max Yaghchi
  • Tiffany Ho