Minutes of Faculty Council Meeting 288 October 20, 2021 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. via Microsoft Teams

Present: V. Arora, Z. Austin, R. Bendayan, N. Boampong, R. Bonin, G. Bradley-Ridout, S, Cadarette, K. Cameron, T. Chalikian, I. Crandall, D. Croteau, C. Cummins, C. De Angelis, A. DiMarcantonio, L. Dresser, S. Drodge, M Erclik, K. Galido, M. Gautam, P. Grootendorst (Chair), H. Halapy, J. Henderson, J. Kellar, L. Kotra, D. Kwan, R. Macgregor, A. Ng, S. Pang, K. Richards, M. Rocchi, D. Sibbald, L. Singh, M. So, N. Steenhof, C. Tan, B. Thrush, B. Toner, A. Trent, J. Uetrecht, K. Vu, J. Wells, P. Wells, L. Chung (Recording Secretary)

Regrets: C. Allen, S. Angers, H. Boon, B. Bowen, S. Cesario, N. Crown, D. Dubins, S. Guilcher, C. Harvey-Kane, C. Ho, M. James, S. Kelley, A. Lee, M. Tomas, A. Sweezey, A. Thompson, S. Wu

1.0 Approval of Minutes, July 7, 2021

MOVED: J. Henderson; **SECONDED:** C. De Angelis; **THAT,** the minutes of the meeting held on July 7, 2021, be approved.

CARRIED

2.0 Report of the Executive Committee

The Chair relinquished the chair to Z. Austin to present the report of the Executive Committee.

The Committee on Academic Standing requested that the Executive Committee consider the WatChing Bursary award record for approval.

This is a \$30,000 endowment from Martina (Ching) Siu and Isaac Wat who are graduates of the Faculty of Pharmacy, Class of 9T3. The annual interest earned from the WatChing endowment will be awarded to one full-time undergraduate student in any year of study at the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy on the basis of financial need. The value of the award will be equal to the annual income from the endowment (of \$30,000) less the portion added to the capital base as protection against inflation.

This award record was approved by the Committee via e-vote on August 31, 2021.

Z. Austin relinquished the chair back to the Chair of Faculty Council.

3.0 Report of the Committee on Academic Standing

Since its last report to Council the Committee has met four times.

ITEM FOR APPROVAL

3.1 PharmD Program

New Award Record—Kan Hoi Herrick Ngan Pharmacy Award

Mrs. Sue Ngan established this award in memory of her late spouse, Mr. Kan Ngan (Class of 7T1), to honour his passion for pharmacy and to help pharmacy students pursue their studies. The Kan Hoi Herrick Ngan Pharmacy Award will be given to one full-time undergraduate student in any year of study at the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy on the basis of financial need. The source of funds for the award is an expendable donation in the amount of \$12,500. It will be awarded annually for five years with each recipient receiving \$2,500.

MOVED: J. Uetrecht; **SECONDED:** R. Bendayan, **THAT**, the decision of the Committee on Academic Standing be upheld in approving the award record for the Kan Hoi Herrick Ngan Pharmacy Award.

CARRIED

FOR INFORMATION

3.2 PharmD Program

Grades

Reports of the Board of Examiners, First, Second, and Fourth Years, as well as make-up and supplemental examination results from third year, were approved at the meeting of July 8, 2021.

Results of make-up and supplemental examinations in first, second, and third years, were approved at the meeting of August 10, 2021.

Reports of the Board of Examiners, First, Second, Third, and Fourth Years, were approved at the meeting of September 14, 2021. Make-up and supplemental examination results for first, second, and third years were also approved at this meeting.

Graduation

Four students completed outstanding APPE rotations during Blocks 1 to 4 of the 2021-2022 cycle and therefore have fulfilled the requirements of the Doctor of Pharmacy program. The students are eligible to graduate in November 2021.

3.3 PharmD for Pharmacists Program

Grades

Results of didactic and experiential courses for the summer session 2021 were approved at the meeting of September 14, 2021.

One student completed outstanding requirements in one course from the winter session 2021 and passed.

One student wrote a supplemental examination in a didactic course and passed.

APPE grades from Block 4 were approved at the meeting of October 12, 2021.

One student from the winter 2021 cohort submitted a petition to request a course exemption in a required course as they received a graduate degree in that topic from a Canadian University in June 2020. The Program Committee discussed the petition and voted to grant the exemption provided that the student enrol in another pharmacotherapy course. Since its inception in 2015 the Program had not granted course exemptions, however, based on the discussion regarding this specific request the Program Committee will develop guiding principles and a process for reviewing future requests.

Graduation

Thirteen students are eligible to graduate in November 2021, 4 of them with 'Honours'.

4.0 Other Business

There was no other business.

The meeting adjourned at 11:13 a.m.