Research Celebrated at Undergraduate Student Research Program Poster Presentations

Each year, the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy Undergraduate Summer Research Program provides undergraduate students with the opportunity to spend the summer conducting research under the supervision of one of our remarkable faculty members. This program allows students to explore academic research more intensely, investigate post-graduate research possibilities, and participate in groundbreaking research activities alongside graduate students, research associates, and faculty members at the top of their fields.

At the end of the summer, all participants present their research findings at the Faculty’s annual Undergraduate Pharmacy Summer Research Program Poster Presentations.

Held in the Apotex Atrium, this event provides all participants with the opportunity to create an academic poster detailing their summer research project, and present these findings to their peers, faculty members, graduate students, and a panel of judges.

Throughout the event, the judges evaluate all of the poster presentations, and determine who will represent the Faculty at the annual meeting of the Canadian Society of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

This year, Theodora Bruun (supervised by Professor Reina Bendayan) was selected to receive the Undergraduate Summer Research Program Poster Award for her poster “Regulation of Folate Permeability at the Blood Brain Barrier.” Theodora will present her poster next year at the CSPS meeting in Toronto.

The judges also selected Erin Cicinelli (supervised by Associate Professor Suzanne Cadarette) as the first runner up for her poster “Diffusion of Innovation in Pharmacoepidemiology: Co-authorship Network Analysis of Case-only Study Designs.”

The judges also recognized the following students with honourable mentions for their presentations: Matthew Richler (supervised by Associate Professor Beth Sproule), Michelle Lai (supervised by Professor Gang Zheng), Nadia Milad (supervised by Professor K. Sandy Pang), and Alice Jiangrui Xu (supervised by Associate Professor Carolyn Cummins).

Congratulations to everyone who participated in this year’s program and presentation session, and to the organizers of this event for arranging such a nice celebration of student research.