On Friday, November 10, students from the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy participated in the 2017 Pharmasave Business Plan Competition finals. Team OnePharma Solutions came in first place, winning a $5,000 shared prize and a professional development opportunity with Pharmasave.

The annual Undergraduate Pharmacy Society (UPS) Charity Week ran from November 6th-10th, 2017, raising a record total of $7,750.

Each undergraduate Pharmacy class competed to raise the most money, with all proceeds going to four charities: Me to We, Charity: Water, Young Carers Programs, and the CAMH Foundation.

Visionary businessman, philanthropist and U of T alumnus Murray Bernard Koffler died on Sunday at his home in Toronto. He was 93. Perhaps best known as the founder of Shoppers Drug Mart and co-founder of the Four Seasons Hotels Ltd., Murray was also deeply committed to improving the lives of Canadians through his philanthropy.

On October 24, The Centre for Pharmaceutical Oncology (CPO) hosted its second annual Research Symposium entitled Progress in Fighting Cancer. Building on the success of last year’s event, the symposium featured world-renowned researchers and clinicians who shared the latest developments in cutting-edge cancer research. 

Assistant Professor Elise Paradis’ article in Medical Education has been identified as one of the 10 most cited papers of 2015/2016. This is a huge achievement as Medical Education receives over 1,600 articles per year, making it an accomplishment to be selected, let alone one of the most cited papers.

In 2003, Ethiopia – a landlocked country of 72.5 million people – had only a handful of psychiatrists, all located in the capital city.  Psychiatry was in its infancy, and most people sought treatment for mental disorders at religious Holy Water sites.

Fourteen years later, a U of T-Addis Ababa University partnership has propelled the number of psychiatrists from 11 to 70. There are now seven psychiatry departments around the country, and mental health is...

David Dubins, Associate Professor, Teaching, recently received a Teaching Stream Pedagogical Grant.

These grants, in amounts of up to $2,000 per year, support teaching and learning research, classroom experimentation and professional development activities.

David was awarded the grant for PHC435 – Pharmaceutical Data Acquisition and Analysis, to cover expenses for the course. He has used the money to purchase digital multimeters and supplies (e.g. resistors, capacitors,...

On October 11, 2017, the Pharmacy Mentorship Program hosted the annual Meet and Greet event in the atrium at the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy.

The goal of the event was to educate pharmacy students about diverse pharmacy-related career opportunities through informal discussions with pharmacists from various fields of pharmacy. In addition, the event provided the opportunity for pharmacist mentors to inspire upcoming pharmacists and students to build their network.